First off, I just want to say that I have always tried to be a friendly and helpful member of the online autograph collecting community. I've shared what information I know with many others via my Getting Started and FAQs pages, as well as the various addresses pages I've compiled to save us all time and effort. And when a new hockey autograph blog joins cyberspace, I welcome it with open arms and link to it on my blogroll.
However, one such new blog has stolen content from my website. The name of the site is Ro's Hockey Autographs, which is maintained by a blogger with a user ID of ovechkin8. I am not sure if he is just a kid who doesn't know better or if he genuinely has a lack of respect for other bloggers.
To illustrate, here is a screenshot of my Getting Started page:
And here is a screenshot of this new blog's Getting Started page:
He even had the audacity to remove my name and put his in place:
Take a look at his page, and you'll see he even stole all of my images (including pictures of cards personalized to me). This new blogger has even ripped off my FAQs page verbatim, as well as the three address pages.
What's the point of maintaining a blog--taking time to compile information, images and links--if someone can just steal all your hard work in 5 minutes and make their own blog.
Needless to say, I am mad. Imitation may be the highest form of flattery, but plagiarism is a flat-out insult.
I've politely asked this new blogger--via email and by leaving a comment--to remove my content from his website. My requests have been ignored. Sadly, being polite does not always work.
Thus, I am asking my fellow TTM collectors to blacklist this blogger. Block him from commenting on your blog, do not trade with him and do not share information with him. Here are his details:
Blogger ID: ovechkin8If ovechkin8 can swipe content from me this easily, what's to stop him from stealing from your website too?
Email: 2018sikandv@gmail.com
Name: Varun Sikand (name on the email)
IP Address: 209.85.215.41 (where email was sent from)
Website: http://roshockeyautos.blogspot.com
Sal



11 comments:
Hate to see things like this. Will definitely black list this guy.
Hi Sal
Complain to google, they really frown on this stuff and since blogspot is a google product, they might do something. There should be a way to report it right on this guy's site.
Sorry to see this. I love your site. Hope everything comes out in your favor.
Sorry to hear this Sal! Love your blog, just checked out his. WTF? No offense, but it is garbage. He doesn't know how to run a blog. And plagerizing? Thats's against the law, especially because he put by RS. He should be plain out ashamed of himself. It's time to take action. Complain to google, as Steven said.
This offends me on two levels: as a blogger and as a librarian. I teach my students EVERY day about plagiarism, citing sources, etc. I almost want to use your site and his as my go to example and why we shouldn't plagiarize.
This jabroni is obviously thick-headed, arrogant, and lazy. Meh.
Hey Sal,
Looks like he's trying to ruin us TTM'ers to get autographs. Look at this. http://www.sportscardforum.com/ttm.php?do=listp&sp=1&pl=3228 Yep, he mailed 8 cards to Joe Thornton. 8!!! Joe's just starting to sign two instead of just 1, and now he might not sign at all when he see's this! I'm getting even more pissed off with this guy...
I fully support you. I don't like to see people copying other people's work!
Sal,
I LOVE your site. This guy has no right to take it from you. I back you completely
Hi Sal he just asked me to make a trade
Thanks or the heads up! You saved me one bud! Actually speaking of trades I sent you out an email for a trade about a week ago and I'm not sure if you got it or not, take a look and let's see if we can make something work!
Post a Comment